golf collectors  

37th Annual Heart of America Hickory Tournament Results

golf collectors

The Grand Daddy of modern hickory golf was conducted July 18-20, 2014, at the Bright-Grandview Golf Course in Des Moines, Iowa. This flagship hickory tournament began in 1978 by past GCS president Warren "Ole" Olson and has been held in GCS Region 7 ever since.

Grandview was originally built in 1902 as a 9-hole layout and was redesigned with 18 holes in the spring of 1911.  52 registered players and guests converged in Des Moines to experience this hickory players’ delight.  Friday's play got under way with a preview round that included 2-man better ball.  As the pairings were by choice - with very diverse handicaps involved, the results were computed by a combined reserve formula. The Friday winners were as follows:

1st Place went to the team of Gary Trapani (Lincoln Park, Mi.) and Lloyd Slinglend (Trenton, Mi.) with a reserve score of 55.  2nd Place went to the team of John Roth (Mills River, NC.) and Jim Jeselnick (Chesterton, IN.) with a reserve score of 56.  3rd Place went to the team of Russ Fisher & Bob Baldus (both of Des Moines) with a reserve score of 60.

Friday evening's reception and entertainment was held at nearby Prairie Meadows Racetrack & Casino, where the Hickory Golf Association reserved the Trackside Pavilion on the final turn of the thoroughbred track. The 7th race was sponsored by the HGA in honor of this long standing hickory tournament of Region 7 of the Golf Collectors Society. One player stated that this was the first time he was able to place a wager on a racehorse as an official function of a hickory event. His horse won by 4 lengths going wire to wire.

The 36-hole results from Saturday and Sunday play are as follows:

Scramble Division:  2-Man Team: 1st Place went to Rives McBee and Corey Miller (both of Irving, TX.); 2nd Place went to Dean Townsend & Jerry Reed (both of Des Moines).

Ladies Division: Jeanne Swenson of Kelley, Iowa won the Gold Medal. 

Open Division Medal Play: 1st Place: John Berggren (Kingwood, TX); 2nd Place: Richard Bullock (Clearwater, FL); 3rd Place: Dan Chand (Carrolton, TX). 

Open Division Reserve: 1st Place: Chris Hardy (Port Byron, IL); 2nd Place: Larry Krebsbach (Lincoln, NE); 3rd Place:  David McDonald (Wasugal, WA).

Senior Division Medal: 1st Place:  John Piffer (Indianola, IA);  2nd Place:  John Hutton (Lakewood, CO); 3rd Place:  Bobby Jones (Urbandale, IA). 

Sr. Division Reserve: 1st Place:  Ed Ronco (Wyandotte, MI); 2nd Place: Jim Jeselnick (Chesterton, IN); 3rd Place:  Mark Larson (Rushford, MN).                 

Statesman Division: 1st Place:  Bill Reed (Des Moines, IA); 2nd Place: Max Hollon (Evansdale, IN); 3rd Place: Russ Fisher (Des Moines, IA).

Statesman Reserve:  1st Place:  Kelly Gay (Cumming, IA); 2nd Place: Peter Herrington (St. Louis, MO); 3rd Place:  John Roth (Mills River, NC).

Many members of the Golf Collectors Society, the Society of Hickory Golfers, and the Hickory Golf Association joined hands and forces to welcome all of the players and guests to the 37th Heart of America Hickory Championship. God Speed and we hope to see you next year for the 38th Edition of this event.

Advertise With Us

Advertise With Us

Advertise With Us

© Copyright 2007-2013, Golf Collectors Society